Scientific Advisory Board

The tasks of the Scientific Advisory Board are to provide scientific advice to the German Federal Institute (also in optimising the organisation of the Institute and with regard to the scientific work) and to advise on the strategic development of medium- and long-term goals in the scientific area. In addition to this, the Board not only promotes contacts and cooperation between the BfR and other research institutions in Germany and abroad, it also advises the Institute on the appointment of renowned scientists to the committees located at the Institute.

A further task of the Scientific Advisory Board is to provide scientific support to BfR in the evaluations by the German Council of Science and Humanities (WR) (so far 2006 and 2015).

The BfR Scientific Advisory Board was established in 2005. Its members work in an honorary capacity. They are appointed for a period of four years, additional terms of office are possible.

The fifth appointment was made in August 2021 when 17 scientists from various universities and non-university research institutions were selected. The panel consists of experts from the fields of food chemistry, food hygiene and food analysis, nutrition, toxicology and epidemiology, as well as psychology, communication sciences, statistics and animal welfare.


Professor Dr Wolfgang Bäumler
University Hospital Regensburg, Clinic and Polyclinic for Dermatology

Dr Sígurborg Daðadóttir
The Icelandic Food and Veterinary Authority (MAST), Iceland

Professor Dr Markus Fischer
Institute for Food Chemistry at the Hamburg School of Food Science

Professor Dr Jan G. Hengstler
Technical University Dortmund, Leibniz Research Centre for Working Environment and Human Factors

Professor Dr Katja Ickstadt
Technical University Dortmund, Faculty of Statistics, Chair of Mathematical Statistics with Applications in Biometrics

Professor Dr Susanne Moebus
University Medicine Essen, Institute for Urban Public Health (InUPH)

Professor Dr Dennis Nowak
University of Munich, Institute and Polyclinic for Occupational, Social and Environmental Medicine

Professor Dr Frank Ordon
President Julius Kühn Institute (JKI) - Federal Research Centre for Cultivated Plants, Quedlinburg

Professor Dr Monika Pischetsrieder
University Erlangen-Nuremberg, Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy

Professor Dr Juliana Raupp
Freie Universität Berlin, Organizational Communication, Institute for Media and Communication Studies, Department of Political and Social Sciences

Professor Dr Bernhard Renard
Hasso Plattner Institute for Digital Engineering gGmbH, Research Group Data Analytics and Computational Statistics

Professor Dr Michael Siegrist
ETH Zurich, Department of Health Sciences and Technology, Institute for Environmental Decisions, Switzerland

Professor Dr Gabriele Stangl
Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg, Institute of Agricultural and Nutritional Sciences, Research Group Human Nutrition

Professor Dr Roger Stephan
University of Zurich, Institute for Food Safety and Hygiene, Switzerland

Professor Dr Karl-Heinz Südekum
University of Bonn, Faculty of Agriculture, Institute of Animal Science, Department Animal Nutrition

Professor Dr Christa Thöne-Reinecke
Freie Universität Berlin, Department of Veterinary Medicine, Institute of Animal Welfare, Animal Behavior and Laboratory Animal Science

Professor Dr Uwe Truyen
Leipzig University, Institute of Animal Hygiene and Veterinary Public Health

BfR reports to the Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL)

There are no documents on your notepad

There are no documents in your cart

Cookie Notice

This site only uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Find out more on how we use cookies in our Data Protection Declaration.